New Year, New Novella, New Book

Five years have come and gone since I began writing my post-apocalyptic fantasy series The Druid Chronicles.  What started out as a NaNoWriMo project – planned as a single novel – has grown and developed into a trilogy.

The first two novels, Traveler and Warrior, were published in 2013 and 2014, respectively.  Self-publishing has been a bigger challenge than I expected, mostly because of editing requirements.  Time constraints have proven to be a larger issue with the third book in the series, because in addition to working full time, I also started graduate school in August 2015.  Therefore, my goal publication date is August 2016.

Because I know people were disappointed in the extra wait time, I had the idea to write short stories in the post-apocalyptic world of The Druid Chronicles, but the Muses gave me a gentle nudge and suggested that writing a novella from the view of the female protagonist – Angie – might be a better idea.  I did write one short story, and will probably write some more, but I think followers of the series are more likely to enjoy her story, titled Child of Storms.  

Before I go further, I have to give a spoiler warning:  If you haven’t read Warrior, be aware that Child of Storms starts midway through Warrior chapter 50 (out of 62 chapters), so you’ll either be lost because you’ve missed three-fourths of the story, or you’ll like the novella and risk being ticked off because of the big huge spoiler.  😉

If you want to try my storytelling abilities out before you buy, you can do so without the risk of spoilers!

Traveler: Book One of the Druid Chronicles is available free on Amazon (Kindle version) and Smashwords (Kindle, Nook, PDF, RTF, TXT, etc.).

Warrior: Book Two of the Druid Chronicles, is $2.99 to buy, or free if you have Kindle Unlimited.  ***edit:  From Jan 7 – 11, 2016, Warrior will be FREE on Amazon!!! ***

Now that all the disclaimers and shameless promotion is over, a little explanation before I post the prologue.  I’m pretty disappointed that I didn’t get to publish Druid: Book Three of the Druid Chronicles in Dec. 2015 like I wanted.  Summer 2016 seems a long time to wait, especially when it’ll probably be August 2016.

Therefore, I decided to publish Child of Storms as a serial novella, to tide you over as well as catch you up with the goings-on at White Oak Grove at the end of Warrior.  I originally intended to include these chapters in Druid, but keeping the book from Davis’ perspective felt like the right thing to do. Bouncing back and forth between two people in first person can get confusing quickly. Also, Angie has been bugging me to tell her story, and this has resulted in new and interesting developments and changes that I’ve begun making to Druid.

I intend to publish Child of Storms as an ebook around the same time as Druid, but that will depend a lot on the cover design.  If you have any comments, suggestions, or questions, please feel free to comment here, Twitter, Facebook, or email me.

While a serial novella is not the book 3 that everybody is patiently waiting for, it’s still druids and magic, and hopefully you will all enjoy it.

Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

