“Fireborn” by Keri Arthur

Fireborn (Souls of Fire, #1)Fireborn by Keri Arthur

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I picked up this book after seeing a GIF ad on GoodReads, which led me to try a sample, then purchase. I was hooked after the first few pages. I read quite a bit of urban fantasy, and was thrilled to find a book in the genre with a different twist. Vamps, werewolves, and fairies have been done to death, so it was refreshing to find a protagonist of another kind — a phoenix!

The characters are believable and as realistic as mythological beings get, with reasonable limitations to their magic/abilities. Said magic/abilities are well balanced, with offensive and defensive aspects. I particularly enjoyed the background lore about phoenixes and the way in which the main character Emberly still tries to find happiness and hope in spite of their curse.

I wasn’t thrilled with how she still desires and loves a man from a failed relationship five years ago, but I think that’s just my personality. To a mere mortal like myself, that’s a long time to moon over someone and still want them. To someone who is virtually immortal, five years is a quick moment in time. In addition, there is only one true love for a phoenix in each lifetime and this guy is hers, so I suppose I can give her some leeway — especially since it doesn’t keep her from having incredibly spicy sex.

The story ended way too soon for me, because I expected Emberly and her friends to solve the mystery by the end, but in retrospect if the issue at hand has been investigated by other supernaturals for over a year, it’s unreasonable to expect her to have solved it in a week. It’s also a great way to keep the series going, because there will surely be backlash from some of her actions and decisions. The writing is excellent and I enjoyed the insertions of Australian dialect. I’ll definitely be buying the next one! 🙂

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

