10K Training

I’ve come to an abrupt decision about running. One of my New Year’s Resolutions was to run a 10K, which I’ll be doing in the next couple of weeks. I signed up for a virtual race through Moon Joggers and for the Enterprise run, stated that I’d run 5K and 10K. And I will do it, but it’ll probably be the only 10K for quite some time. Honestly, though, I’m doing it for the medal:

Image

Admit it. You want one now.

I have enjoyed the training for the most part, even though the vast majority of it has been while battling the elements of ice and freezing temperatures. I no longer cringe at the thought of running in below-freezing temps, mostly because I’ve suffered no ill effects from it. In fact, I run better in the cold; my breathing is easier (no allergens in the winter!) and my body doesn’t have to work so hard to cool itself. I often wonder how I would react in various post-apocalyptic scenarios, and now I know that I can handle the cold just fine, so long as I’m moving, have on both gloves and mittens, and use a heavy moisturizer on my face to keep from getting wrinkles.

I was trying to remember of why I wanted to run a 10K in the first place and have to admit that I am susceptible to inadvertent peer pressure, or maybe it’s just that I’m a slave to whatever cool trend is occurring among the people I interact with the most. For example, the trends over the past two years have been Vera Bradley bags (resisted), Lily&Laura bracelets (also resisted), mismatched socks (dabbled in a bit), and wild fluorescent running shoes (wholly embraced). My shoes at work are a bright chartreuse with purple trim. My running shoes are hot pink with orange and yellow trim. Both are Asics, which I adore for making shoes for women with a wide toe and narrow heel. BTW, that’s MOST of us, shoe makers, hello!  

I have coworkers and friends who have trained for half-marathons, and I have to admit that while I like running, and think it would be cool to train for a half-marathon, or even a marathon, I really don’t have that kind of time. I’m the first one to say that if something is important to someone, they’ll make the time. So I suppose it is more accurate to say that it’s not that important to me. I work a full-time job as a nurse 3 days a week. I supervise my son’s online (K12) schooling program. I try to spend time with my husband, doing what we enjoy most together, playing video games, on the evenings we’re home together. And last but definitely not least, I write books 3 or 4 days a week. In addition, since I’m an indie author, I also deal with editors, my graphic designer, my web designer, and all the other things involved with publishing. I’m BUSY.

Don’t get me wrong. I still love running, and I really love that my body can carry me for miles without stopping. It is an amazing and wondrous thing. I love it so much that I signed up for the Moon Joggers “Voyage to Venus.” However, reality set in as I acknowledged that I’ll be doing well to run 500 miles in a year, so I changed to running as a Cadet. In addition to running, I also lift weights at home (dumbbells), and am working toward increasing both my core and upper body strength. I work my legs, too, with squats and lunges, so I can truck up those hills I love so much. I totally intend to keep running, but after this 10K, I’m going to limit it to the hour or hour and a half while my son is at swim team, and thirty minutes on Saturday mornings after work.

Someday, when the kids are gone and I can write full-time, I might turn my thoughts back to long races. Until then — after this 10K, that is — I’ll be working on increasing my 5K speed. Sprints, intervals, and speed work, here I come.  😉

Leave a Reply

